Molten Steel

Molten Steel

Forget the plastic fantastics, the high alloy aluminiums, the composites, the graphite /kevlar impregnated whatsits.  The real lifeblood of industry, and therefore a nation is steel. Molten steel.

Ever since my days of my engineering degree I have been passionate about steel.  It seemed a product considered old fashioned at the time – everyone wanted to play with composites, study these new materials that were coming through but I saw that steel’s crown whilst askew, was still seated firmly. It can be alloyed, machined, cast, welded, and yes this is true for many other materials, but steel is the material all others are compared to.

The photo was taken at NZ Steel during an Engineering School field trip. I love molten steel, so went and got this shot within metres of the splashes of the molten rain.  I was happy being that close to this steelfall (as opposed to waterfall), but our guide had a small heart attack.  I got the photo.

Leave a comment